Name Company
Mr Dimitris FAFALIOS (Chairman) Fafalios S.A.
Mr Thomas KEENAN (Vice Chairman) Liberty Maritime Corporation
Mr Herman VISSER Oldendorff Carriers SA
Mr. Yoshikazu KAWAGOE Mitsui O.S.K. Lines Ltd (MOL)
Mr. H. BHAVE Pacific Basin
Mr Alan H. MITCHELL Interorient Marine Services Ltd. 
Mr S F WONG IMC Shipping Co. Pte. Inc.
Mr Dimitris MAKRIS Olympic Shipping and Management SA
Mr Nikos NIKOLAIDIS Kyla Shipping
Mr Xinquan WANG COSCO Bulk Group
Mr Christian HASSALL Wallem Shipmanagement Ltd
Nr Jan Øivind SVARDAL Grieg Star Shipping A.S.
Mr Cliff PIERCE Rio Tinto
Mr François THOMAS Cetragpa CIE/Louis Dreyfus Armateurs
Capt Eric LI Sinotrans Shipping Limited
Mr. FAN Xiangdong China Shipping Development
Capt Eduardo M. LIMPIN Sandigan
Mr Sanjeev SAMEL Masterbulk Pte Ltd
Ms Tracy KOO Valles Steamship
Mr K ZENON Star Bulk
Mr Hardeep MUNDAE Thome Ship Management Pte Ltd
Mr Georgi YORGAKIEV K Line
Mrs Catherine PRIFTI Laskaridis Shipping Co. Ltd.
Mr ZHANG Shiwei Hong Kong Ming Wah Shipping Co. Ltd
Mr Dimitris N MONIOUDIS Rethymnis & Kulukundis Ltd
Hon (ex Chairmen)
Mr. Richard RAWLINSON 
Mr. Leo Appoen 
Capt Michael SHUKER

The Management Committee (ManCom)

The purpose of the Management Committee is to organise the on-going and activities of Intercargo, to ensure Intercargo acts in accordance with the requirements of its Constitution and Objectives and serve the interests of its Members.

The Management Committee comprises of the Chairman, the Vice Chairmen, the Chairman of the Technical Committee and the Secretary General.

The Executive Committee (ExCom)

The Executive Committee considers the activities of Intercargo, discusses industry issues and approves the future actions and objectives.

Two Executive Committee meetings take place in each calendar Year unless decided otherwise by either the Management Committee or the  Executive Committee.

Membership of the Executive Committee is open to Full Members with term expiring at the end of the calendar year of their appointment. Their re-election as Members of the Executive Committee is approved by the AGM. One representative of any Full Member is eligible for membership of the Executive Committee at any time.

Any Full Member willing to participate in the Executive Committee must apply to the Secretary General.  Such application will be considered for acceptance or rejection by the Management Committee and membership acceptance will be with immediate effect, all decisions to be endorsed by the Executive Committee at its next meeting.

Executive Committee Members are permitted to nominate a substitute to attend a specific Executive Committee meeting on their behalf.

Resolutions proposed at an Executive Committee meeting will be passed, wherever possible, by consensus.  In the event that this is not possible, voting will take place by a show of hands by majority of Members present.

The Technical Committee (TechCom)

The Technical Committee is formed to assist the Management Committee and the Executive Committee and considers technical matters relevant to Intercargo.

One representative of any Full Member is eligible for membership of the Technical Committee at any time. 

Two Technical Committee meetings shall take place in each Membership Year unless decided otherwise by either the Management Committee or the Chairman of the Technical Committee.

Similarly to the Executive Committee, membership of the Technical Committee shall be open to Full Members with term expiring at the date of the AGM falling due at least two years after their appointment. Re-election as Members of the Technical Committee is permitted subject to approval by the AGM.

The Annual General Meeting (AGM)

An AGM shall be held once a year in the second half of the Membership Year.

Associate members are entitled to attend the Annual General Meetings plus any sessions such as presentation sessions open to them in other meetings, but they do not have any voting rights.

The purpose of the AGM is, among others, to approve or decline :

  • The setting of Annual Membership Fees
  • The financial status of Intercargo
  • The election of the Chairman and Vice-Chairmen – as applicable
  • The activities and membership in the preceding year.
  • Any other formal announcements.
  • Any other business.
  • The setting of objectives for the future.

The date and place of meetings shall be organised by the Management Committee and agreed at the prior Executive Committee meeting. Intercargo currently holds one set of meetings in Asia in March and one in Europe in October. (Please visit our Events Calendar to see the latest meeting date and place)

Intercargo members may view latest meeting minutes and notices in the members area

The Management Committee

Chairman – Mr John Platsidakis – ex-officio, Anangel Maritime Services Inc  

Vice-Chairman – Capt Jay Pillai – ex-officio, Pacific Basin Shipping (HK) Ltd

Vice-Chairman – Mr Nicky Pappadakis (Chairman Emeritus)– ex-officio, A.G. Pappadakis & Co.

Technical Committee Chairman – Mr Dimitrios Fafalios, Fafalios Shipping SA

Secretary General – Dr Kostas Gkonis