Home » About Us

About Us

The International Association of Dry Cargo Shipowners (INTERCARGO) is representing the interests of quality dry cargo shipowners. INTERCARGO convened for the first time in 1980 in London and has been participating with consultative status at the International Maritime Organization (IMO) since 1993.

INTERCARGO provides the forum where dry bulk shipowners, managers and operators are informed about, discuss and share concerns on key topics and regulatory challenges, especially in relation to safety, the environment and operational excellence. The Association takes forward its Members’ positions to the IMO, as well as to other shipping and international industry fora, having free and fair competition as a principle.

INTERCARGO is committed to safety and quality in ship operations, with a focus on operational efficiency and the protection of the marine environment

You may view INTERCARGO’s ESG Review 2024, Annual Review 2022/2023  , Annual Review 2021/2022  , Annual Review 2020/2021 , Annual Review 2019/2020Annual Review 2018/2019.


INTERCARGO encourages the adoption of a zero tolerance policy regarding illegal wildlife trade and would also support in its capacity:

– information sharing and detection

– practical measures to stop the transportation of illegal wildlife product

– new mechanisms tackling illegal wildlife trade


The incumbent Chairman of INTERCARGO is Mr. Dimitris J. Fafalios.

INTERCARGO’s Members predominantly operate Bulk Carriers in the international dry bulk trades, such as coal, grain, iron ore and other bulk commodities. INTERCARGO’s main role is to work with our Members, the Regulators and other Shipping Associations to ensure that shipping operates safely, efficiently, and in an environmentally sound way. INTERCARGO actively participates in the development of global legislation through the International Maritime Organization and other international bodies.

INTERCARGO’s Work Programme (please refer to TOPICS on the main menu on this website) covers the most important issues affecting dry bulk shipowners.

An overview of the INTERCARGO Membership is provided here and individual Members are listed here.

Please refer to INTERCARGO’s Constitution to read the objectives of INTERCARGO and information on the Management and functioning of the Association.

You are invited to view INTERCARGO’s latest Annual Review 2022/2023.

INTERCARGO is the brainchild of Antony J. Chandris who pursued a vision of creating a forum which would draw together individual dry cargo shipowners for the common benefit: a forum where matters of mutual interest and concern could be discussed and resolved. The first General Meeting of the Association took place on 23rd April, 1980 in London.

INTERCARGO Chairmen, Vice-Chairmen, and Secretary Generals

Period Chairman Vice Chairmen Secretary General / Director
2021 to date Dimitris Fafalios Spyros Tarasis Kostas G. Gkonis (2016 to date)
Uttam Kumar Jaiswal
2019 – 2020 Dimitris Fafalios Jay K Pillai
Spyros Tarasis
2016 – 2018 John Platsidakis Jay K Pillai
Nicky Pappadakis
2015 – 2016 John Platsidakis Jay K Pillai David H. Tongue (2014-2016)
Nicky Pappadakis
2013 – 2014 John Platsidakis Nicky Pappadakis Rob Lomas (2008-2014)
Giuseppe Bottiglieri
2005 – 2012 Nicky Pappadakis John Platsidakis
Giuseppe Bottiglieri Roger Holt (1999-2008)
2000 – 2005 Frederick Chavalit Tsao Gian C Savasta
Pierre Gehanne
1999 – 2000 Frederick Chavalit Tsao Peter Cowling
Gian C Savasta
1998 – 1998 Sverre Tidemand Peter Cowling Bruce Farthing (1985-1998)
Gian C Savasta
1996 – 1998 Sverre Tidemand Peter Cowling
1995 – 1996 Spyros Polemis Sverre Tidemand
Peter Cowling
1994 – 1995 Spyros Polemis Tak Wakasugi
Sverre Tidemand
1993 – 1994 Dr Frank Chao Spyros Polemis
Tak Wakasugi
1991 – 1993 Dr Frank Chao Spyros Polemis
Bjorn Wilhelmsen
1990 – 1991 Dr Frank Chao Carl Schrumpf
Spyros Polemis
1987 – 1990 Menis Karageorgis Dr Frank Chao
Carl Schrumpf
1986 – 1987 Menis Karageorgis Dr Frank Chao
Morten Werring
1985 – 1986 Morten Werring Menis Karageorgis
Dr Frank Chao
1980 – 1985 Christer Salen Antony Chandris
Morten Werring